Thursday, April 4, 2013

Interview + Review + #Giveaway ~ An Affair to Dismember (The Matchmaker, #1) by Elise Sax




Certain to appeal to fans of Janet Evanovich, Jennifer Crusie, and Katie MacAlister, Elise Sax’s hilarious series debut introduces matchmaker-in-training Gladie Burger, who stumbles into a dangerous quagmire of murder and red-hot romance.

Three months has been Gladie Burger’s limit when it comes to staying in one place. That’s why Gladie is more than a little skeptical when her eccentric Grandma Zelda recruits her to the family’s matchmaking business in the quaint small town of Cannes, California. What’s more, Gladie is also highly unqualified, having a terrible track record with romance. Still, Zelda is convinced that her granddaughter has “the gift.” But when the going gets tough, Gladie wonders if this gift has a return policy.

When Zelda’s neighbor drops dead in his kitchen, Gladie is swept into his bizarre family’s drama. Despite warnings from the (distractingly gorgeous) chief of police to steer clear of his investigation, Gladie is out to prove that her neighbor’s death was murder. It’s not too long before she’s in way over her head—with the hunky police chief, a dysfunctional family full of possible killers, and yet another mysterious and handsome man, whose attentions she’s unable to ignore. Gladie is clearly being pursued—either by true love or by a murderer. Who will catch her first?


Buy Links: ~Amazon ~ BN ~ Wal-Mart ~ BooksAMillion ~

This debut novel by author Elise Sax is a perfect blend of mystery, suspense, humor and romance. The author’s remarkable writing style mixed with a humorous undertone gave this story a unique tone. The author crafted distinctive personalities for the characters; even secondary characters. This level of detail can often overwhelm a reader but, in this instance it made them seem more realistic. 

The good news is that we get to reunite with Gladie and gang in Matchpoint; coming July 30th.
Disclosure: This ebook was provided to me free of charge through NetGalley for the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments, and ratings are my own.

Meet The Author

Elise Sax worked as a journalist for fifteen years, mostly in Paris, France. She took a detour from journalism and became a private investigator before trying her hand at writing fiction. She lives in Southern California with her two sons. An Affair to Dismember, the first in the Matchmaker mystery series, is her first novel.


http://elisesax.com/

https://twitter.com/TheEliseSax

http://www.facebook.com/theelisesax

http://youtu.be/sox1nLfSEmY

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/elise-sax/
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5766108.Elise_Sax

Tell us about your writing process…

How long do you generally let a story idea germinate before you start the writing?

That depends. Some story ideas percolate for years; some come to me as I write. I came up with the mystery to An Affair to Dismember almost a decade ago, though!

Do you pre-plot the book or write as you go?

I more or less pre-plot the book, but there is a measure of magic in the writing process. Sometimes the characters have a mind of their own. Sometimes the plot takes unexpected turns. In the second book of the Matchmaker Series, Matchpoint, the ending came as a complete surprise to me.

How do you come up with the characters names/personalities?

The characters fit together like puzzle pieces for me. For instance, I created Bridget because I thought Gladie should have a best friend who is good-hearted and crazy for human rights. I created Spencer because I thought Gladie should have a foil and someone who would challenge her commitment issues, and I created Holden because I thought Gladie should be adored. How did I create Gladie and Zelda? I have no idea. The ideas just came to me and so did most of the names. I also love names that are not usually considered beautiful (like Gladys) and giving them to beautiful people. And between you and me, I like to put clues in some names. Randy Terns, the poor unfortunate victim in An Affair to Dismember has a name that’s full of clues.

How do you go about revising/editing?

I like to edit as I go, and then I have beta readers, an editor, a line editor, and a team of copy editors at Random House. Sometimes there’s no end to the editing.

What is the average time it takes to write a book?

Oh, I’m a SLOOOOOW writer. It took five months to write Affair and a year to write the second in the series, but I had cancer while I wrote it, so that’s my excuse. I would love to learn how to write faster.

Any other books in the works? Goals for future projects?

I’m finishing up the third book in the series (Match and Release) and then I hope to write a YA series.

Do you have any specific last thoughts that you want to share with us?

Writing what I wish and to have it published is a great privilege. That my book can give some readers pleasure is nothing short of miraculous. I’m so grateful.


13 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. Hi, Heather! Thank you so much for having me!

      Delete
  2. Congratulations on your new book, An Affair to Dismember! It sounds like a fun read. Enjoyed the interview. Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds really good! Added it to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fabulous, Tala. Thanks so much! Happy reading.

      Delete
  4. I'm always interested in how much say the author has on the book cover. I actually like this book cover quite a bit. I like that you can't really see the guys faces clearly. Leaves more up to the imagination of the readers.
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    mestith at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Meghan. I'm glad you like it.

      Delete
  5. Thank you for the review and the interview. I am looking forward to reading this series. The cover is very eye catching, love the colors.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congrats on the new books! I loved the trailer and this looks like a fun read!

    ReplyDelete